Member Login
Log in


wvba member header2
Mel Burka Distinguished Broadcaster Award
Roger Sheppard - WTAP TV
Parkersburg, WV 
Legendary Station of the Year
Charleston, WV
Best Television Station of the Year
Bluefield, WV
Distinguished West Virginian Award
David Barnette


AC/Oldies Station of the Year
Todays 97.5 WLTF

CHR Station of the Year
WHAJ 104.5
Star 95

Country Station of the Year
WBRB The Bear

News/Talk Station of the Year
580 WCHS
1340 & 93.7 WEPM

Rock Station of the Year

On-Air Personality:
WRZZ Mike Cameron
WCDK - Cindy Taylor

Best Morning Show:
TIE-WCLG - Better Than Your Morning Show 
TIE-WQBE-FM - Al Woody - The Morning Air Show
WLTF - Rona Menash

Best Newscast: 
WCHS - Chris Lawrence
WEPM - Hans Fogle

Best Talk Show:
WBES-FM - Brandon Lowe - The Brandon Lowe Show
WRNR - Hannah Geffert - Mid Morning With Hannah

Best Sportscast:
WHKX- Dan McMahon
WEIR - Joey Klepack 

Best Play-by-Play:
WJLS - Fred Persinger II - Beckley Basketball
WCDK - Joey Klepack - Big Red Football

Best Radio Promotion
WVAQ - Laurel Slone

Best Radio Creative
WMXE - Kenny McClain - Adelphia's

Best Use of Digital Media
98.7 The Beat - Patrick Rhinehart



Sports Play-by-Play:
Kyle Wiggs - 
SSAC Basketball Championships


Network Sportscast
MetroNews Afternoon Sportscast - Garrett Cullen 

Network Long-Form News Program
MetroNews Sports Brunch

WOWK TV - WV Auto Show - Bryan Hughes

Network Breaking News or Event Coverage

MetroNews Network - Chris Lawrence - First Impressions at Queen Shoals
Network Talk Show
Talkline - Hoppy Kercheval



Best Community Outreach
WVVA TV - Rebuild WV Telethon

Best Locally Produced Television Show
WVNS TV - Valerie Sullivan - The 1,000 Year Flood Helping Our Neighbors

Best Sportscast:
WBOY TV - Nick Ferrell

Best Investigative News Story or Series
WCHS TV - Leslie Rubin - Shakedown Behind Bars

Best General Assignment Reporting
WSAZ TV Kathryn Robinson

Best Coverage of Breaking News
WOWK TV Nicki Walter - Family Stranded By Flood

Best Newscast: AM
WDTV 5 News Daybreak

Best Newscast: PM
WSAZ TV - Kelsey Hoak - News Channel Three Tonight

Best Anchor:
WCHS TV Whitney Wetzel

Best Weathercast:
WTAP TV - Tom Battle

Best Photojournalist:
WVVA - Matt Irvin

Best Use of Digital Media
WVNS TV - Douglas Fritz

Best TV Creative
WVNS TV - David Mott - We're All In This Together

About WVBA

The West Virginia Broadcasters Association has been representing and serving West Virginia commercial radio and television stations since 1946. We are a member-driven trade association that provides unequaled service and value to stations throughout the state. 

Upcoming Dates

5 Mar
NAB Legislative Conference
Date 03.05.2024 - 03.06.2024

Washington, DC

9 Mar
13 Apr
NAB Show
04.13.2024 - 04.17.2024

Las Vegas, NV

The 2024 NAB State Leadership Conference will feature a robust program where broadcasters from all over the United States and Puerto Rico will hear from prominent policymakers and industry leaders, as well as meet with their legislators to discuss key issues affecting the industry. The conference is also a great opportunity to network with fellow broadcasters from across the country.

27 Apr

Morgantown, WV

14 May
5 Nov